There are also numerous links from both places to find out more. Another great resource about child passenger safety seats is www.michigansafekids.org.
Here is a blurb from a recent press release:
Booster seats are nothing new, and experts have long recommended their use up to age eight, but beginning July 1 a new Michigan law mandates that all children be in a booster seat until they are 8 years old or 4'9" tall. Children must be in a seat until they reach the age requirement or the height requirement, whichever comes first.
"This law is a real win for Michigan's children," said Michigan Department of Community Health Director Janet Olszewski. "The combined use of booster seats and seat belts will save lives and decrease injuries."
When used correctly, child safety seats are 71 percent effective in reducing fatalities and 50 percent effective in preventing minor injuries.
This is a primary enforcement law so a police officer can stop a vehicle if the officer sees an improperly restrained child and issue a citation which could end up costing parents $65 to $165 in fines and fees for each unrestrained child in the vehicle.
The legislation, which was introduced by Sen. Michelle McManus, R-Lake Leelanau, was signed by Gov. Jennifer M. Granholm on March 27.